Weekly Report 44 – 2016

By | 12/06/2016


U17M   Ifan Oldfield              2nd       19.12

SW        Sophie Paxton           18th      22.03  3rd U17W

Linda Jones               47th      25.05

Alison Whitelaw       55th      25.46

Ros Adams                78th      27.39  2nd W60

Margaret Docking     86th      29.11  2nd W65

M70       Arthur Egan              6th       27.33

Bob Frost                  8th       31.11

Peter Norman            10th      39.15  2nd M75

John Tipping             11th      44.59  3rd M75

SM        Mike Robbins           48th      37.18  3rd M50

Phil Walker               145th    48.37  3rd M65

Shaun Partington       150th    58.10

Full results at www.thepowerof10.info/results and www.northwalesxc.com



Alison Perrins             46th      1.55.21

Hazel Platt                   63rd      2.04.40

Jacqueline Hislop        73rd      2.18.44


ERDDIG 5K PARKRUN, 26 Nov.               ELLESMERE PORT PARKRUN, 26 Nov.

Daniel Weston             2nd       19.59               Richard Westwood      11th      24.06

Joseph Hancock          4th        20.33

Hugo Freudmann        8th        21.53

David Millington         9th        22.14

Alex Bush                   12th      22.46

Rob Barber                  14th      22.56

Deb Pugh                    27th      24.43

Phoebe Norfolk           40th      26.28

Peter Hughes               47th      27.18

Angie Meredith           61st      28.45

Steven Freudmann      95th      33.01

Evan Meredith 103rd    33.56

Grace Meredith           104th    34.02

Peter Norman              124th    37.28



Sat   3  Dec      10.30am          North Wales Junior XC League, Wrexham

Sun  4              11.00am           Borders Road Race League, Birkenhead Park

Sat  10             12noon            Welsh Inter Regional XC Champs, Brecon

Sun 11             10.45am          Telford 10K

Sat  17             12noon            North Staffs XC League, Stafford Common

Mon 26            10.30am          Round the Walls Race, Chester


Congratulations to Jade Williams (Hammer) for her award under the Welsh Athletics Futures Cymru Support Scheme for 12 months beginning 1st December.

Best wishes to our club athletes selected to represent North Wales at the Welsh Inter Regional Cross Country Champs at Brecon on 10 December.

Happy long training runs to Tristan Thomas & Charles Ashley who have taken up the offer of our two club places at the Virgin London Marathon 2017.

Our thanks to Lynda Rowlands for volunteering to take the entries on the day at the final North Wales Junior XC League fixture at Ysgol Morgan Llwyd, Cefn Road, Wrexham on Sat 3 December with the first race at 10.30am; registration from 9.30am. More volunteers would be welcome to assist Lynda and with marshalling, refreshments etc. Presentations take place in the sports hall after the last race.

At the North Wales Regional Athletics Council last Friday in Colwyn Bay I was ‘press ganged’ into chairing the meeting. Road running champs 2017 were agreed for the following races :          Prestatyn 5k, Abergele 5 mile, Caernarfon 10k, Wrexham 10 mile, Village Bakery Half Marathon, Wrexham Marathon. The Nick Beer 10k in Llandudno will host the Welsh 10k Champs.

The North Wales Track & Field Champs will be held on Sunday 14 May 2017 at Deeside.

Last Friday was also the occasion for our Club Christmas Dinner at the Squire Yorke where the photos suggest everyone had a great time. It was great to see all our friends from Special Olympics.

Entry forms are now available for the North Wales Indoor Track & Field Champs at Deeside on Sat 7 January 2017. Volunteers to help are needed from parents, coaches, officials etc.

Entry forms are also available for the North Wales Cross Country Champs at the Rhug Estate, near Corwen on Sat 28 January 2017.

Congratulations to our Club Fell Champs 2016 winners : Linda Jones & David Ford, with Alan French taking the masters award. Presentations will be made after the Club Christmas Charity Races (Road & Junior Track) on Sunday 8 January 2017 starting at 12noon (registration from 11.00am).

At our Club AGM last month all the usual suspects were re-elected to club officer posts. The changes for 2017 include : Glyn Davies (coach) made Vice President; Brian Collins appointed as Membership Secretary, in place of Jo Evans who has given great service to the club; and Richard Westwood appointed to the Executive Committee, which meets monthly to keep the club on the rails. Laura Poole has stepped down after giving great service, so we still have a vacancy on the club committee if there is anyone out there who would like to help us, whether parent, coach, athlete or official, let me know by Friday 2nd December, in time for the next committee meeting on